This article on Arizona Car Seat Laws has been written with references from the State of Arizona Legislature and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration websites.
Child Restraint Seat Law in Arizona
- Infants, toddlers, and preschoolers less than 5 years of age and all children between 5-8 years and not more than 4 ft. 9 in. tall (57 inches) must be restrained in a child restraint system.
- Such a child restraint system must meet federal safety standards for performance, design and installation.
- Such child restraint system includes “add-on child restraint system, a built-in child restraint system, a factory-installed built-in child restraint system, a rear-facing child restraint system or a booster seat.”
- A fine of $50 shall apply for violating Arizona’s child restraint system law.
More on the Law…
When a child is born in a hospital in Arizona, the hospital, in conjunction with the attending doctor, must provide the parents of the child a copy of Arizona car seat law (child restraint system) and more information on the availability of loaner or how to rent a child restraint system within the community where the child is born.
Arizona Rear Facing Law
The Arizona car seat law does not explicitly state the type of safety seat that a child should be restrained in.
But by general standards, as recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics’ and for optimal protection of your child, you should restrain your baby in a rear-facing car seat.
You are recommended to use a rear-facing safety seat for as long as possible, say the first 2 years or more (up to 4 years), depending on your child’s height and weight.
This article on types of car seats by age will guide you more on all types of car seats to use at different stages of growth of your child.
Arizona Forward Facing Law
The Arizona car seat law does not explicitly state this type of safety seat.
However, a forward-facing car seat with harness is the type of car seat you should be using ideally for toddlers and preschoolers (age 4-8 years).
This type of car seat is recommended for children who have outgrown the limit (weight and height) for the rear-facing car seat.
Arizona Booster Seat Law
The car seat law in Arizona mentions a booster seat as a type of child restraint system to be used.
A belt-positioning booster seat is applicable for school-aged children (8-12 years old).
Therefore, when your child exceeds the limit for the forward-facing car seat as instructed by the car seat manufacturer, you should transition your child to a booster seat.
The law says your child must be restrained in a seat belt for children above 8 years old; therefore, you should use a belt-positioning booster seat.
Arizona Seat Belt Law
- A passenger (adolescent) less than 16 years old who is sitting in the front passenger seat is required to fasten the lap and shoulder belts. However, if only a lap belt is installed in the front seat, the lap belt should be adjusted and fastened properly while the vehicle is in motion.
The law says children above 8 years old must be restrained in a seat belt; therefore, you must always use a seat belt for your child (above 8 years) in the car.
Other Arizona Car Seat Laws You Should
Other Passengers in a Car
All other occupants of the car should make use of a seat belt.
Arizona Front Seat Law – Can A Child Sit in The Front Seat?
The car seat law in Arizona does not explicitly state if a child can sit in the front seat.
However, by general law, children under 13 years must ride in the back seat with a seat belt.
Therefore, a child under 8 years old must be restrained in a car seat belt, while children aged 8-13 must use a seat belt and ride in the rear seat.
Only adolescents between 13-16 years can sit in the front passenger seat and must use the lap and shoulder belts or the lap belt (if that is only what is available).
Leaving a Child Alone in Your Car in Arizona
The law does not mention about leaving a child in the car.
It is estimated that every year, between 30 and 50 babies do die as a result of hypothermia and heat illness in the U. S. after been left in a car.
You don’t want such an experience.
For Taxis in Arizona
The child restraint system law does not apply to taxis in Arizona.
- A person who operates a commercial vehicle and holds a current commercial driver’s license is not applicable to Arizona’s child restraint system law.
However, as a parent or a caregiver, you should ensure you use a safety seat and install it correctly.
This guide will help you on how to install a car seat without base. You may use a base to ease the process in this case of a taxi, cab or uber.
Car Seat Replacement After an Accident
Arizona car seat laws does not mention about car seat replacements in the event of an accident.
However, it is worthy of mention that you install your car seat in the safest position in your car, and that is the center rear. Never install a child restraint system in the front passenger seat with an activated airbag. When there’s an accident and the airbag inflates, it can inflict serious injury on your baby, and at worst, cause death.
Helpful Resource – Car Seat Inspection in Arizona
When you need help in Arizona, here are your go-to resources;
- South Phoenix Healthy Start – helpline 602-372-1166
- Getting help in installing your car seat – AAA Car seat Inspection
- Car seat inspection in Avondale – Child Safety Seat Inspections
- Chandler Fire Department’s Child Safety Seat Program
- Gilbert Fire and Rescue – Car Seat Education Clinics
- Mesa Fire and Medical Car Seat Safety
- Car Seat Safety Inspections by Peoria Fire-Medical Department
- Phoenix Fire Department Child Seat Program
- Scottsdale Fire Department Car Seat Inspections
- Surprise Fire-Medical Department Car Seats Checks
- Tempe Fire, Medical, Rescue Department Inspect Car Seats Regularly
- Safe Kids Arizona Centers
- NHTSA Car Seat Inspection Directory
- Bullhead City Fire Department’s Child Safety Seat Program